Smithers District Chamber of Commerce

Business Awards 2012 at Hy-Tech Drilling

Chamber President George Whitehead and MC Mark Edwards

Hy-Tech Shop transformed to Gala.

Business of the Year

Harvey Tremblay recieves Hy-Tech Drillings Business of the Year Award from sponsor Grant Harris of the Interior News. (Oscar's Source for Sports and The Peak were the two other finalists).

Environmentally Friendly Business

Environmentally-Friendly Business of the Year is awarded to Summit Reforestation. Mike Sanborn was at the event to recieve the Award from RDBN Area A Director Stoney Stoltenberg. This award is sponsored by the Town of Smithers and the Regional District of Bulkley Nechako. The other two award finalists were Net-Zero Structures and Dawn2Dusk.

Business Person of the Year

Mike Henfrey of BV Insurance is acknowledged as Business Person of the Year. Presenting for the sponsors, Vandergaag and Bakker, is Chamber President George Whitehead. JC Brown of the Peak and Giacum (Jake) Frei of Skeena Heliskiing were also finalists in this category.

Customer Service Excellence Award - Individual

Jason Krauskopf of Rayz Board Shop is the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence Award for an indivual, sponsored by the Salvation Army.

Telkwa Business Leadership

Telkwa Mayor Carman Graf presents Leroy Dekens of Midway Service with the Telkwa Business Leadership Award. Leroy is appreciated by staff at the Village office for his many contributions to community.

Technology Award

Pat Gallagher recieved Net-Zero Structures award on behalf of Mike Sawyer. This Technology/Innovation Award is presented by Christine Slanz of Northwest Science and Innovation. The other two finalists were James Fisher of Paranormal Skis and Map Chat.

Public Service Excellence Award

Rick Apperson of the Salvation Army is presented with the Public Service Excellence Award with sponsor Colin Bateman of tthe Aspen Inn & Suites. The Bulkley Valley District Hospital ad Tony Pesklevits of the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations were also finalists in this category.

Home Based Business of the Year

Harry Hofsink of Smithers Lumber Yard presents Meg Hobson of Rustica Bakery with the Home-Based Business of the Year Award. Other finalists were Corey Koenig of Webflyz and Tim Fehr of Weathered Edgings

Volunteer of the Year

Sean Mitchell of Spark Design has been incredibly involved in major projects this year helping to find funds for the construction of the Telkwa bandstand. He was involved in the 100th Anniversary of the Telkwa Barbecue and is currently working on the 2013 Smithers Centennial Committee and Legacy Committee. Cassda Thomas of Calderwood Realty presents Sean with the Award on October 20 at Hy-Tech Drilling. Also shortlisted as finalists int he Citizen/Volunteer of the Year was David McKenzie and Leroy Dekens.

Tourism Excellence

Gladys Atrill of Tourism Smithers (right) presents the Tourism Excellence Award to Oscar's Source for Adenture. The other two finalists in this category were Hudson Bay Mountain Resort and Skeena CatSkiing.

Building Excellence - Residential

Town of Smithers Building Excellence Award for a Restidential building goes to Bill Stephens and Jane Hetherington.

Building Excellence - Commercial

Town of Smithers Building Excellence Award for a Commercial Building goes to Bugwood Bean.

Building Excellence - Industrial

Town of Smithers Buiilding Excellence Award (Industrial Building) goes to Harvey Tremblay for the new Hy-Tech Building.

Customer Service Excellence

Heartstrings is the finalist in Customer Service Excellence for a Business, sponsored by the Hudson Bay Lodge

Young Entrepreneur

Marj Hidber of Oscar's Source for Sports presents the Young Entrepreneur Award to Amy Brandstetter of Sedaz Lingerie.

You are able to connect with people so easily here. It’s a progressive little town with a vibrant business community and such open minded, friendly people.

-Julie Hoddinott, Owner, The Designery

Meet more local business owners at